Project Online access

In future you will be able to consult every dossier from the Federal Archives online, with analogue dossiers being digitised to order. The Federal Archives are implementing this vision in two projects: one for the web portal and one for the digitisation infrastructure. This page includes a timetable and project news.

The Federal Archives online – any time, anywhere

The Swiss Federal Archives are working on a project that will allow you to access the full range of archival services online, wherever and whenever you want. You will be able to receive information, carry out research, read documents, place digitisation orders, submit requests to consult records and view dossiers (both analogue and digital) online. In the medium term, visits to the reading room will no longer be necessary.

For the general public: The Federal Archives provides a comprehensive online access service featuring expanded search options that also works on mobile devices.

For the administration: Thanks to improved rights management, submitting authorities will have easier access to their own
records.

The projects 

Online access to the Federal Archives is being developed via two projects: one for the web portal and one for the
infrastructure used to digitise analogue dossiers when they are ordered.

It is being implemented in two stages. By the time the web portal goes live in 2019, the Federal Archives expect to be able to deliver some orders in digital form. The reading room will remain available. By 2021 the capacity of the digitisation infrastructure will be increased to allow all orders to be delivered digitally. At the same time, on-site facilities will be progressively scaled back. The Federal Archives’ services will be available online everywhere and at all times.

Timetable

End of 2018 Completion of development work on the web portal
August 2019 Access for individual pilot users
25.11.2019 Online access to the Federal Archives available to all users
2021 Finalisation of the digitisation infrastructure
2025 Continuing development of online access
Planning status: 16.07.2021

Project news

16.07.2021 New Release of the online access (V.1.4.0.1434)

  • Optimisation of data preparation: The emphasis in this release is on optimising data preparation. The new version makes indexing for searches, text recognition (OCR) and preparation of data packages faster and more stable. The optimisations will mean shorter waiting times for digitisation orders for users of the web portal.
  • More automation at the back end: We have received many suggestions from external and internal users for ways to improve the web portal. Release V.1.4.0.1434 implements some further measures that will allow Federal Archives staff to work more efficiently at the back end. They include further steps to automate orders and so speed these processes up.
  • Editable order wizard and improved presentation under “News”: It is now easier to keep the information in the order process up to date, giving users a better indication of current waiting times for digitisation orders. The new version of the web portal also supports the Markdown format in the “News” section on the homepage, allowing news items to be presented in a more user friendly way.

We look forward to receiving your feedback at info@bar.admin.ch.


23.04.21 Continuing development of online access Over the coming years, the Federal Archives will continue developing their online access service, including viewers, optimisation of data preparation, and integration of official publications. Wherever possible, developments will be implemented using open-source software on GitHub.


22.04.2021 Online access goes open source The Federal Archives are publishing the source code for the SFA’s online access portal. The code is available under license AGPLv3 on GitHub.


21.09.2020 Prototype data challenge The Federal Archives’ data challenge encouraged those with a creative mindset to use the search API and experiment with the metadata. Three prototypes emerged:

Bild Data Challenge

GEO UNPLUGGED visualises search results on a map of the world.

The visual platform Mímir can be used to navigate from main department to document in the archive plan. It shows the extent of the fonds at a glance.

Using a saved search link, the results list download can be used to generate a results list in the form of a CSV file that can be edited locally.

In addition to creating the prototypes, the authors also offered some important suggestions for improving the API. Many thanks for all your hard work!



25.11.2019 Go-Live! Research, digitisation, downloads and advice: online access to the Federal Archives brings all these services together on a single web portal (www.recherche.bar.admin.ch). From today, it is available to all users. In the medium term, the Federal Archives plan to make all documents available in digital form. To this end, the digitisation structure is being further expanded between now and 2021.

Media release: New online access to the Federal Archives

 
 

22.07.2019 After the summer break we’ll be launching the pilot phase, during which we’ll be opening online access up to selected users. In the meantime, we present some figures about the online access (in german):

Infografik_Newsletter_de

28.02.2019 - Slowly but surely, our online access service is nearing completion. Check out the following image gallery for some initial impressions direct from our new platform:

 
 

Haus 588x368

06.06.2018 - Information about the online access project is now available on the Federal Archives website. This page will be continually updated with project news. Please contact us if you have any questions.

Last modification 27.07.2021

Top of page

Contact

Swiss Federal Archives

Archivstrasse 24
3003 Bern

Tel.
+41 58 462 89 89

E-mail

Opening hours reading room

Tu-Th, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Details and closing times

Print contact

Map

Swiss Federal Archives

Archivstrasse 24
3003 Bern

Show map

Print contact

https://www.bar.admin.ch/content/bar/en/home/recherche/suchen/projekt-online-zugang.html

Projet d'accès en ligne

Avoir accès à tous les dossiers des Archives fédérales en ligne – les AFS concrétisent cette vision d’avenir via deux projets : la création d'un portail d'accès en ligne et la mise en place d’une infrastructure de numérisation. Vous trouverez sur cette page des informations sur l’état d’avancement des projets et sur les dernières actualités.

Les Archives fédérales en ligne : partout et en tout temps !

Les Archives fédérales suisses développent actuellement un portail d’accès en ligne aux archives. Il sera ainsi possible de bénéficier de l'ensemble des services des AFS en tout lieu et en tout temps : obtenir un renseignement, faire une recherche, consulter un document, commander une reproduction numérique ou encore déposer une demande de consultation. Que les archives soient conservées sous forme analogique ou numérique, vous pourrez les consulter en ligne. Bientôt, il ne sera plus nécessaire de venir en personne à la salle de lecture.

Pour le public : les services des AFS sont disponibles en ligne. Le nouveau portail permet de faire des recherches avancées et fonctionne sur les appareils mobiles.

Pour l’administration : grâce à l’amélioration de la gestion des droits, les services versants accèdent plus facilement à leurs propres documents.

Les projets

L’élaboration de l’accès en ligne repose sur deux projets : l’un pour le portail d'accès en ligne et l’autre pour l’infrastructure de numérisation qu’utilisent les AFS pour numériser les dossiers analogiques commandés.

L’accès en ligne sera introduit en deux temps : en 2019, au moment du lancement du portail d'accès en ligne, les AFS livreront une partie des commandes sous forme numérique. La salle de lecture restera accessible. D’ici à 2021, les capacités de l’infrastructure de numérisation seront renforcées, ce qui permettra aux AFS de livrer la totalité des commandes sous cette forme. Parallèlement à ces étapes, les prestations sur place sont progressivement réduites. À terme, les services des AFS seront accessibles en ligne, en tout temps et en tout lieu.

Calendrier

Fin 2018 Fin du développement d'un portail d'accès en ligne
Août 2019 Accès pour les utilisateurs tests
25.11.2019 Lancement public de l'accès en ligne
2021 Achèvement de l'infrastructure de numérisation
2025 Poursuite du développement de l'accès en ligne
État d’avancement de la planification au : 16.07.2021

Nouvelles des projets

16.07.2021 Nouvelle mise à jour de l'accès en ligne des AFS (V.1.4.0.1434)

  • Optimisation du traitement des données: Le point fort de la présente mise à jour réside dans l’optimisation du traitement des données. Dans la nouvelle version, l’indexation pour la recherche, la reconnaissance optique de caractères (OCR) et la préparation des paquets de données sont à la fois plus stables et plus rapides. Pour les utilisateurs de l’accès en ligne aux AFS, ces améliorations auront pour effet de réduire les délais des commandes de numérisations.
  • Davantage d’automatisation au niveau du back end: Nous avons reçu un grand nombre de suggestions d’amélioration du portail web de la part des utilisateurs internes et externes. La mise à jour V.1.4.0.1434 nous permet d’introduire de nouvelles mesures qui facilitent le travail de back end pour le personnel des Archives fédérales et renforcent l’automatisation des commandes, accélérant ainsi ces processus.
  • Assistant de commande éditable et présentation plus conviviale de la rubrique Actualités: Désormais, il est plus facile d’actualiser les informations dans le processus de commande, ce qui permet de mieux informer les utilisateurs des délais d'attente lors d’une commande de reproduction numérique. De même, la nouvelle version du portail web supporte désormais le format Markdown dans la rubrique Actualités de la page d’accueil, ce qui permet de présenter les informations de cette rubrique de façon plus conviviale.

 N’hésitez pas à nous envoyer votre feed-back à info@bar.admin.ch


23.04.2021 Développement de l'accès en ligne Ces prochaines années, les Archives fédérales poursuivront le développement de l’accès en ligne, p. ex. avec l’optimisation de la visionneuse, l’amélioration du traitement des données ou l’intégration des publications officielles dans le portail. Dans la mesure du possible, ces évolutions seront réalisées au moyen de logiciels open source sur GitHub.


22.04.2021 Accès en ligne en open source Les Archives fédérales suisses publient le code source de l’accès en ligne aux AFS. Le code source est accessible sous licence AGPLv3 sur GitHub.


21.09.2020 Prototypes de l’appel à projet pour une application de recherche L’appel à projets des AFS a été entendu et a incité des esprits créatifs à expérimenter notre interface de programmation et à jouer avec les métadonnées. Trois prototypes sont nés de ces expériences:

Bild Data Challenge

GEO UNPLUGGED permet de visualiser les résultats de recherche sur une carte du monde.

La plateforme Mímir permet de naviguer dans le plan d’archivage des AFS depuis la division, premier échelon de l’arborescence de classement, jusqu’au document recherché. Elle permet ainsi de visualiser les fonds et leur taille d’un seul coup d’œil.

L’appli de téléchargement des résultats permet de générer, à partir d’un lien de recherche sauvegardé, une liste des résultats de recherche sous forme de fichier CSV, pour pouvoir ensuite l’éditer localement.

Après avoir créé leur prototype, les auteurs nous ont aussi communiqué de précieuses suggestions d’amélioration pour notre interface de programmation. Un grand merci à eux pour leur engagement!


18.05.2020 Appel à projets : développez une application! Les Archives fédérales suisses sont à la recherche d’idées créatives pour améliorer l’accès à leurs documents. Participez à l’appel à projets des AFS !
 
Créez une application avec notre interface de programmation. Nous l’intégrerons peut-être à notre portail d’accès en ligne. L’appel à projets est ouvert jusqu’au 18 août 2020. Consultez le texte complet de l’appel à projets (PDF, 2 MB, 18.05.2020)

 
 

25.11.2019 Go-Live! Recherche, numérisation, téléchargement et conseil : le nouvel accès en ligne aux Archives fédérales réunit désormais ces services sur une seule plateforme (www.recherche.bar.admin.ch) ouverte à tous les utilisateurs. À moyen terme, les Archives fédérales prévoient de rendre accessible en ligne l’ensemble des documents conservés. À cette fin, elles développent leur infrastructure de numérisation, qui devrait être achevée d’ici à 2021.

Communiqué de presse: Nouvel accès en ligne aux Archives fédérales

 

22.07.2019 Les travaux liés à l’accès en ligne aux fonds des Archives fédérales avancent à grands pas. Après les vacances d’été débutera la phase pilote, durant laquelle le portail en ligne sera accessible aux utilisateurs désignés. En attendant, nous avons le plaisir de vous présenter quelques chiffres:

Infografik_Newsletter_fr

28.02.2019 - L’accès en ligne prend lentement mais sûrement sa forme définitive. Faites-vous une première idée de notre nouvelle plateforme en parcourant notre galerie de photos:

 

Haus 588x368

06.06.2018 – Les Archives fédérales ont publié des informations sur le projet d’accès en ligne aux archives. Vous trouverez ici toutes les dernières actualités sur le projet. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter en cas de questions. 

Dernière modification 27.07.2021

Début de la page

Contact

Archives fédérales suisses

Archivstrasse 24
3003 Berne

Tél.
+41 58 462 89 89

E-mail

Heures d'ouverture salle de lecture

Ma-Je, 09h00 - 19h00

Détails et fermetures

Imprimer contact

Carte

Archives fédérales suisses

Archivstrasse 24
3003 Berne

Afficher la carte

Imprimer contact

https://www.bar.admin.ch/content/bar/fr/home/recherche/suchen/projekt-online-zugang.html